Will it run FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jad|3r

Cadet
Hi all. I am new to FreeNAS and new to computer building, but I feel confident enough I can build it. I have the knowledge [of the internet], to do it.

I have put together a build for my home computing needs and wanted to get the community's input on whether or not it will run FreeNAS. My primary use for this NAS would be home photo / video storage. I would also like to remotely access my files from anywhere, etc. I might give access to my family members [x4] to enable them to backup their data.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Also, if you could recommend something more beneficial, I would consider that too. Thank you in advance for your help.

Motherboard - Gigabyte LGA1151 Intel B150 Micro ATX DDR4 Motherboard, GA-B150M-DS3H

Ram - HyperX FURY Black 16GB Kit (2x8GB) 2133MHz DDR4 Non-ECC CL14 DIMM Desktop Memory (HX421C14FBK2/16)

Hard Drives - [this or similar] - I will need 3x2TB for now - HGST/Hitachi Deskstar 7K4000 HDS724020ALE640 2TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0GB/s 3.5" Internal Desktop Hard Drive

Processor - Intel BX80662I36100 Core i3-6100 3M Cache, 3.70 GHz Processor & Cooler Master - CPU Cooler with 120mm PWM Fan Bundle

Power Supply - CORSAIR CXM series CX450M 450W 80 PLUS BRONZE Haswell Ready ATX12V & EPS12V Modular

Case
I am having an issues choosing a case. I am not looking for something HUGE, just 4-6 bays, sleek. hot-swappable would be nice, but not necessary. I would like to spend less than $200 on a descent case. I'm open to suggestions. My choices:
Zalman ATX Mid Tower Case - Black MS800
Fractal Design Define R4 Cases, Black Pearl (FD-CA-DEF-R4-BL)

Misc Supplies:
Two SanDisk Cruzer Fit CZ33 16GB USB 2.0 Low-Profile Flash Drive- SDCZ33-016G-B35
UPS - APC Battery Backup & Surge Protector (BE750G) - 750VA 10-outlet Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)
SATA cables - Monoprice 18-Inch SATA III 6.0 Gbps Cable with Locking Latch and 90-Degree Plug - Blue