Which new platform with ECC?

Tipper94

Cadet
Hey, I'm new to this NAS world, I bought a synology nas 6 months ago but have outgrown it. I mainly only use it for PLEX.

I want to build something with new hardware from scratch myself. I can read here that ECC ram is a must have.

I have found the W680 platform, where I will be able to get Intel 12th gen and ddr5 ECC ram. It seems like a good idea. However, I see this platform is very new and I read here and there about problems.

I'm simply not technical enough to do a lot of troubleshooting.

I have found an AM5, X670, ASUS PRIME X670-P, which also supports ddr5 ECC, but then I don't get the best out of plex, and must also have a graphics card in it (I don't quite know how it works, just know everyone says Plex=intel)

Any platforms I've overlooked? It seems difficult to find a proper platform when you want to build from scratch.

I'm considering dropping ECC and then go with, Asrock Z790 Phantom Gaming Riptide and then I have to hope for the best until a stable ddr5 ECC platform appears.

Whattteva

Wizard
I have found the W680 platform, where I will be able to get Intel 12th gen and ddr5 ECC ram. It seems like a good idea. However, I see this platform is very new and I read here and there about problems.
That's not the only problem... Have you seen the price of the motherboards and DDR5 ECC sticks?

I have found an AM5, X670, ASUS PRIME X670-P, which also supports ddr5 ECC, but then I don't get the best out of plex, and must also have a graphics card in it (I don't quite know how it works, just know everyone says Plex=intel)
This is really due to Intel's QuickSync.

Any platforms I've overlooked? It seems difficult to find a proper platform when you want to build from scratch.
Yes, last-gen server stuff.