Suggestions for an efficient CPU?

Megarobo

Cadet
Hi all, I'm looking for some help with finding a seemingly impossible CPU.
First off, let it be known this will be my 1st TrueNAS system, so I have no previous experience using it (or FreeBSD). I did some reading and for my use case (file storage and running Plex) I came up with the following requirements:

- GPU for video transcoding
- ECC memory support
- Low energy consumption
- Enough PCI lanes to run a 10Gbit PCI card (Intel X550-T2 if not using a motherboard that has 10GBase-T on it) and a RAID card (thinking of Dell PERC H310 in IT mode).

I looked at options from AMD and Intel, and found out a few things. AMD offers some CPUs like the Ryzen 2200G, Athlon 3000G and Ryzen PRO 4650G. The problem here is that the 2200G and 3000G do not support ECC. The 4650G does, but I read online that Vega integrated GPUs can not be used on FreeBSD (Source 1 Source 2). I guess this just rules out all offerings from AMD?

Then I looked at Intel options, namely the Celeron G6900 and i3 12100. Both of these have an integrated GPU that should work on FreeBSD, and Intel claims to support ECC on 12th gen consumer processors (Source). I am not sure if that includes the Celeron, but because it uses the 1700 socket I assume so. If not, I can get the i3. However, it does need the W680 chipset according to Intel. Unfortunately, where I live (Netherlands) there are no W680 motherboards for sale (apart from some €500+ ones, but such a board alone would cost about as much as the entire system I'm trying to build).