volume/dataset on usb key where FreeNAS is installed

Status
Not open for further replies.

fabads

Cadet
Hi,

I've installed FreeNAS on a USB key (on a HP N40L). Is it possible to install some applications on this USB key to avoid using hard drives? For example, I have a dedicated application, running every 15 minutes (crontab), in charge of retrieving some data on an external equipment. It could be interesting for me to install this app on this usb key and keep my hard drive idle (or hibernated if possible).
In the same way, is it possible to install jail on this usb key (I plan to install Logitech Media Server as explained in a post of this forum, requiring jail installation).

Any help appreciated (and I'm new to Freenas, so maybe asking stupid questions !).

Regards.

Fabrice

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Installing a jail on a USB key has been discussed before. Protosd told someone that doing it was stupid because it would wear out the USB key quickly. The person did it anyway and in a week was back in the forum complaining because his FreeNAS server paniced and when he rebooted FreeNAS wouldn't load. I was glad to see that guy get flamed. If you don't want to listen to the developers then don't expect sympathy when you do exactly what they told you not to do.

There's VERY little free space on the FreeNAS installation for anything else. Aside from wearing out the USB key you will likely find yourself out of space. I'd just install it to a hard disk and be done with it. Not to mention that anything you put on the USB key may be lost when you do an update.

joeschmuck

Old Man
I use a separate USB flash drive for scripts and data I'd like to run just to keep them off my hard drives so they can stay sleeping. I retain a backup copy of these scripts on my hard drives just in case something happens to the flash and then I can quickly recover from it.

I highly recommend going this route for what you're planning.