Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Unstable AFP and CIFS. Need help extracting data.

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE
Status
Not open for further replies.

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
Hello,

I connect to my FreeNAS directly using a patch cable. The Finder crashes all the time in past few months. Previously I used AFP, but in last few months I have switched to using SMB on all shares since Apple deprecated AFP support on El Capitan and supposedly improved SMB support. It has been a hell with directory browsing, rsync via terminal, normal copy-paste operations etc.

Finder crashes on accessing certain folders with beach ball on OS X and similar effects on Windows 10.

I have tried changing CIFS settings to SMB2 and SMB3 in the web GUI many times with multiple power cycles on both the server and the client.

Here are the network settings in FreeNAS web GUI:

Code:
Hostname: FreeNAS

Domain: local
IPv4 Default Gateway: 10.0.1.1

Nameserver 1: 8.8.8.8
Nameserver 2: 8.8.4.4

NIC settings on Mac:
Code:
Configure IPv4 : Manually
IP Address 10.0.1.4
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0

I want to extract all my data from the server but given the crashes, its proven futile.

How should I go about getting my data back?

Where can I find the canonical settings for NIC on server and client for connecting using a patch cable directly?

What are the correct settings for setting up shares? Following official documentation hasn't helped. I am in a very bad situation and planning to scrap the whole setup for a fresh start once I can extract my data. Please help!

Thank you in advance for your suggestions!
 

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
7,282
Hello,

I connect to my FreeNAS directly using a patch cable. The Finder crashes all the time in past few months. Previously I used AFP, but in last few months I have switched to using SMB on all shares since Apple deprecated AFP support on El Capitan and supposedly improved SMB support. It has been a hell with directory browsing, rsync via terminal, normal copy-paste operations etc.

Finder crashes on accessing certain folders with beach ball on OS X and similar effects on Windows 10.

I have tried changing CIFS settings to SMB2 and SMB3 in the web GUI many times with multiple power cycles on both the server and the client.

Here are the network settings in FreeNAS web GUI:

Code:
Hostname: FreeNAS

Domain: local
IPv4 Default Gateway: 10.0.1.1

Nameserver 1: 8.8.8.8
Nameserver 2: 8.8.4.4

NIC settings on Mac:
Code:
Configure IPv4 : Manually
IP Address 10.0.1.4
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0

I want to extract all my data from the server but given the crashes, its proven futile.

How should I go about getting my data back?

Where can I find the canonical settings for NIC on server and client for connecting using a patch cable directly?

What are the correct settings for setting up shares? Following official documentation hasn't helped. I am in a very bad situation and planning to scrap the whole setup for a fresh start once I can extract my data. Please help!

Thank you in advance for your suggestions!
If you need a quick and dirty way to get data off of a FreeNAS server, enable SSH and use SCP / SFTP.

You should look into VFS fruit in your Samba config. It will significantly improve OSX support. Just enable fruit, catia, and streams_xattr on all of your samba shares.
 

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,778
How should I go about getting my data back?
Does it behave any better with both devices on the LAN?
Where can I find the canonical settings for NIC on server and client for connecting using a patch cable directly?
I would assume the right approach is to use non-routable addresses in a range that doesn't clash with your LAN. For example, if your LAN uses 192.168.0.0/16, use the 10.0.0.0/8 range, and vice versa. No need to set gateway or DNS with a direct connection.
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
If you need a quick and dirty way to get data off of a FreeNAS server, enable SSH and use SCP / SFTP.

You should look into VFS fruit in your Samba config. It will significantly improve OSX support. Just enable fruit, catia, and streams_xattr on all of your samba shares.
Thanks. Will copying data using SCP / SFTP preserve file metadata like archive option in rsync?

I enabled fruit, catia, and streams_xattr per your recommendation but I am still getting Finder crash and operation timeouts on deleting big directories.

Disabling DOS attributes in CIFS did improve browsing speeds, but the speeds crawl to 1 KBps or even 0 KBps when deleting folders :(
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
Does it behave any better with both devices on the LAN?

I would assume the right approach is to use non-routable addresses in a range that doesn't clash with your LAN. For example, if your LAN uses 192.168.0.0/16, use the 10.0.0.0/8 range, and vice versa. No need to set gateway or DNS with a direct connection.
No, it behaves the same.

I configured 192.168.0.0/16 on the NAS. So far no change even after a proper power cycle.
 

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,778
Have you verified the stability of the server hardware when booting a different OS? What about memtest, SMART tests etc?

Have you tried saving your config and doing a clean install of FreeNAS on a new boot device?

Can you move the FreeNAS data disks to a different box temporarily?

Please post full details of your FreeNAS system, and under the circumstances, your local network too.
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
Have you verified the stability of the server hardware when booting a different OS?
The hardware was stable the last few times that I booted Windows 8.1 and FreeDOS on it.

What about memtest, SMART tests etc?
The SMART results in FreeNAS GUI all show green. I plan on checking SMART data on individual drives once I get the data off of this install and before preparing for a new install.

Do you mean the freeware at memtest86.com? I will run it too with the SMART test. Thanks for the suggestion.

Have you tried saving your config and doing a clean install of FreeNAS on a new boot device?
No, I haven't tried clean install on a new boot drive, since I was not sure about the success rate of zfs pool import and about it being a 1-way process (according to the documentation).

Can you move the FreeNAS data disks to a different box temporarily?
I don't have a spare box. That's why I want to get my data off of the zpool and start over.

Please post full details of your FreeNAS system, and under the circumstances, your local network too.
System details:
Code:
AMD A6-6400K CPU

GIGABYTE GA-F2A85XM-D3H Motherboard

1 x 8GB DDR3 SDRAM

4 x 3 TB HDD

1 x 8 GB USB boot drive.


Here are the network settings in FreeNAS web GUI (updated yesterday after your suggestions):
Code:
Hostname: FreeNAS

Domain: local
IP Address: 192.168.0.1

Nameserver 1: 8.8.8.8
Nameserver 2: 8.8.4.4

NIC settings on Mac:
Configure IPv4 : Manually
IP Address: 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0

Connecting directly to FreeNAS via Ethernet patch cable. 1 Gbps link established.

Hope this helps.
 

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,778
The SMART results in FreeNAS GUI all show green. I plan on checking SMART data on individual drives once I get the data off of this install and before preparing for a new install.
I'd take a look at the smartctl output for all drives ASAP.
I was not sure about the success rate of zfs pool import and about it being a 1-way process
Not sure what you mean here. Should be a straightforward process.
System details:
Not exactly recommended hardware.
Realtek GbE LAN chip
Have you tried with an Intel NIC?
Here are the network settings
I'm more interested in the overall network structure.
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
Not sure what you mean here. Should be a straightforward process.
According to my understanding, once a zpool is imported into another system, then it belongs to the new system. Not as simple as just switching the boot drives for a simple check.

Not exactly recommended hardware.
Could you please tell me about the problems with this hardware? Any red flags?

Have you tried with an Intel NIC?
No, I don't have a box with Intel NIC.

I'm more interested in the overall network structure.
Network structure is very simple:
Internet < - Modem < - Wi-Fi Router < - Wireless Clients
 

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,778
once a zpool is imported into another system, then it belongs to the new system
The proper way to move a pool is to detach it from the current host, which marks it as available for import. If you're unable to do this, it's a simple matter to force the import.
Could you please tell me about the problems with this hardware? Any red flags?
It's not server grade hardware. It doesn't appear to support ECC RAM. It has features that are not useful for a server. You might consider reading up on the hardware recommendations found in these forums.
I don't have a box with Intel NIC.
You could plug an Intel NIC into your existing box and disable the internal NIC. Realtek network hardware has a terrible reputation in these forums.
nternet < - Modem < - Wi-Fi Router < - Wireless Clients
Much more detail, please.
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
What about memtest, SMART tests etc?
I performed memtest for about 12 hours with 7 passes. The memory passed all of them.
The SMART tests on all drives also reports healthy.

It has features that are not useful for a server. You might consider reading up on the hardware recommendations found in these forums.
Yeah, mostly due to limited budget, lack of experience and # of SATA 3.0 ports. I will use the hardware recommendations found in these forums in my next build.

I have read about some FreeNAS builds with Xeon processors and Supermicro motherboards. Many of them have only 2 x SATA 3.0 ports whereas the remaining ports are SATA 2.0. Do the builders on those exclusively use add-on LSI SATA controller cards ignoring on board ports?

How does this affect performance with and without the LSI controller cards? What about the ones with only 2 x SATA 3.0 ports and remaining ports are SATA 2.0 when using exclusively on-board ports?

You could plug an Intel NIC into your existing box and disable the internal NIC.
I don't have an Intel NIC. I am still working on various smb vfs fruit settings and will post about any progress.
Realtek network hardware has a terrible reputation in these forums.
Yeah, I have read those.
Much more detail, please.
I am at a loss due to my limited networking experience. Can you give an example of how you want me to describe my network structure?
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,358
Sata 2 vs sata 3 doesn't matter with HDDs, they are not fast enough to care.

Your realtek nic is going to cause all kinds of network stability problems. Your netmask is probably wrong, it should probably be 255.255.255.0 when using the 192.168.1.0-254 ranges. You would have had to change it on purpose to get something else.



Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
 

DEEFyYVE

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
20
Sata 2 vs sata 3 doesn't matter with HDDs, they are not fast enough to care.

Your realtek nic is going to cause all kinds of network stability problems. Your netmask is probably wrong, it should probably be 255.255.255.0 when using the 192.168.1.0-254 ranges. You would have had to change it on purpose to get something else.



Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top