Unscheduled System Reboot

IronSheepdog

Dabbler
I am running TrueNAS-12.0-U8, but this has been going on for a few months now (about six or more). I am still a newbie at this and it's driving me insane. This is random, but it seems like it's been happening about anywhere from two to six times a week. My TrueNAS server has unscheduled system reboots. I've only had my system running for about a year and a half (if that) and the hardware is all new. I'm on a UPS which is also new. I had SMART tests done in TrueNAS on all of the drives with no errors. Somewhere I read that the cables to the drives could be the issue, so I replaced them. It's still happening. I've seen numerous threats on this issue which are no help at all.

Can someone please help this dumba** out? I'll show whatever logs you want (as long as I know how to get them).

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Last edited:

IronSheepdog

Dabbler
It's highly likely your 250W power supply isn't enough for your build, and is cutting power to the board when certain rails get overloaded. See https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/truenas-randomly-shutting-down.98702/, and follow the thread to the power supply sizing calculators @jgreco links to.

Your CPU alone uses at least 80W TDP. Your 4x Red Pro drives use 7.2W each. That's at least 109W.
I may replace it to see if that's the issue. I'm not doubting your experience or knowledge at all. But I'm curious as to why this would start affecting my build after a year and not right away.

Redcoat

MVP
But I'm curious as to why this would start affecting my build after a year and not right away.
Have you cleaned all the dust out of your box recently?

IronSheepdog

Dabbler
Have you cleaned all the dust out of your box recently?
I have it in a pretty much dust-free room, but I check it once every few months. It's clean.