Unscheduled System Reboot

MrMeier

Cadet
First of, I've looked at every post related to this issue in here and google, but nu luck.

I recently made my first NAS out of an old PC I had laying around, running TrueNAS-13.0-U3.1.

My problem is that 5-8 times a day, mostly every 3 hours now, I get a unscheduled system reboot.
I've tried looking in the logs, but haven't seen anything weird, but then again, I'm new to all this.
First time I got the problem, I was running a HDD as boot drive, so tried installing Truenas on a SSD instead, but still same problem.

truenas problem.PNG

Specs:
500W PSU
Asus Sabertooth z77 motherboard
Intel i7 3770k CPU
8GB no ECC RAM
3x 4TB Barracuda Pro from Aug 2018 as storage
1x Samsung 830 240GB SSD as boot drive

Temps are more than fine on everything, CPU is around 30-40 and HDD's and SSD around 30-35 max.
I've got two jails, one for Transmission and one for Plex, but the problem was there, even before I made those.

Any ideas?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
8GB no ECC RAM
I've got two jails, one for Transmission and one for Plex,
Any ideas?

Double the RAM and jettison the jails. The minimum memory required for TrueNAS is 16GB. Adding jails increases the amount of memory required even more, so if you want to run Transmission and Plex, see if you can shoot for 32GB.

Once you've done this, also return to the burn-in and testing phase to verify that you don't have some other problem.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
You may want to look into the BIOS settings for power management and turn all that stuff off... it can be problematic (I concede more known as an issue for AMD CPU/BIOS) and is one of the things that I can imagine kicks in after a few hours.

MrMeier

Cadet
Double the RAM and jettison the jails. The minimum memory required for TrueNAS is 16GB. Adding jails increases the amount of memory required even more, so if you want to run Transmission and Plex, see if you can shoot for 32GB.