Truenas randomly shutting down

PlasmPlayer

Dabbler
I am running TrueNAS-12.0-U7
I have a z97 MSI gaming 7 with a 4790k, 16gb ram, and 2 HBA cards connecting up to 32 2.5 inch hard drives.
After installing truenas core and setting up my raid z2's and plex it runs great and there is no smart errors. Randomly either during the day or night. the system will shut down and when i turn it on it will give me a notification that it shut down unexpectedly. I read that it may keep the logs of whats happening before it shuts down on the built in storage, I am a noob at truenas and was hoping someone can help figure out whats causing this issue.

Redcoat

MVP
Welcome to the forums!

Unfortumately, gaming boards are often not suited for use with TrueNAS.

Killer NIC may be a problem (FreeBSD drivers?).

What are your HBA's? Are they LSI-based?

Check /data/crash directory for information, as well as the content of the older /var/log/messages files (messages.1.bz2, etc).

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
z97 MSI gaming 7 with a 4790k, 16gb ram, and 2 HBA cards connecting up to 32 2.5 inch hard drives.

How large is your power supply? I suspect you may be experiencing sags on one or more rails given the number of drives and HBAs you have connected.

PlasmPlayer

Dabbler
This board is only temporary until i can get a better board and CPU to use.
Still debating o what i am wanting to run. I have access to a Xeon silver 4208 CPU, but may look into an embeded CPU for lower power consumption, if I can get multiple x16 lanes for my cards.
There is a 1x slot available i can squeeze in an intel nic to see if its a NIC problem.

I am running 2 LSI SAS 9300-16I cards

How to i check for the /data/crash directory? do i need to create an smb share for the root of the pool?