Ubuntu Server 22.04 LTS VM boots into UEFI

ceftee

Cadet
Hello there,

Before anyone tells me this is a known issue with Linux-based VMs and that there already are solved threads regarding this issue, please understand that I have gone through numerous threads and followed their instructions and I still have not been capable of solving this issue. Since I am very new to TrueNAS and it's capabilities, I'm going to try and be as extensive as possible regarding information about my current setup and stuff I've already done.

I am currently running a custom built system on TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.3.3 with the following specs:
- AMD Ryzen 5 3600 Processor
- ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming-ITX motherboard
- 32GB of DDR-3200 ECC memory (16GBx2) from Samsung
- 1x Goodram PX500 Gen.2 256GB nVME + 1x WD Green 120GB 2.5" SSD as boot drives for a mirrored install
- 5x Seagate Ironwolf NAS 4TB hard drives configured in a ZFS Raidz1
- Using a 1Gb/s connection with the included 2.5G Intel I225V Ethernet port on the motherboard

I created a separate dataset called "Virtual_Machines" in which I created sub-datasets to store my VM ISOs ("ISO_Storage") and also use the main dataset as my Zvol location. I have managed the ACL of this dataset and all child directories to give the necessary permissions to user "libvirt-qemu" to load the ISOs for installation.

datasets.png
permissions.png

I then started the process of creating a VM. If it matters, the purpose of the VM is to run an instance of a LinuxGSM CS:GO Dedicated Server to play some games with friends. In the below screenshots you can find the details of my VM (I'm using VNC for the display option and loaded the Ubuntu Server 22.04 LTS .iso):

VM1.png
VM2.png