Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Transfer Speed issue on windows

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
Hello

I have a issue with transfering speeds from Win10PC (smb) to the TrueNAS.
I have R710 server with 12Cores and 32gb memory, with 4x4tb drives on zfs for 10.9TB storage capasity and 120gb cache SSD.
When i start transfering files its all ok transfer speeds are at 112MB/s form my Win10 PC but then after some time it dips to 13.5MB/s and stays there but if i go in to TrueNas/Network(tab)/ interfaces and select any interface and go edit and without changing anything just presing apply then test changes and save it, transfer speed go back up to 100+MB/s.
Maybe any one knows why its doing this? Help would be very greatfull.

Just to let you all know im new to all this so dont think i will know all the ins and out of the TrueNAS :)

I do think i have something set up wrong just dont know what it could be as at first it looks like its running no problem.
 

c77dk

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
190
Which version of TrueNAS? And how is your pool setup?
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
Version is: TrueNAS-12.0-U3.1
And Pool is 4x4tb drives plus 120gb cache i think i used raidz1 for the drives as i have 10tb storage in total with one drive in case a fail
 

c77dk

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2019
Messages
190
Those drives - which make+model are they? Just making sure they're not WD REDs :smile:
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
They are Seagate Iron Wolf 4TB SATA III 3.5" Hard Drive 5900RPM 64MB Cache :smile:
I think they are OK
 

Constantin

Vampire Pig
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
1,239
Those drives - which make+model are they? Just making sure they're not WD REDs :smile:
Depends on the year and make. Older REDs are OK (i.e. CMR), the newer ones should not be allowed to be marketed as "NAS" drives because they're DM-SMR. So the actual SKU matters.
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,384
Are you reading data from the Nas or writing data? Is this all wired Ethernet? What hba do you have?
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
Im writing to it, its wired network 1gb all of it and the system is conected with 1gb link i can see that in the dashboard of trueNAS
and the hba is H200i.
As i say its something not right there if i just reaply the setings for network car while its moving data the same time i pres apply it jumps back up to 100+MB/s transfer speed
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
This is how it looks.
that dip is drop to 11.4MB/s and around it is 100+MB/s
As you can see its started at proper speed then droped, I re-applyed network settings and it went back up
 

Attachments

Constantin

Vampire Pig
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
1,239
Are these files all the same size or are we looking at a mix? Small files can cause significant dips in throughput.
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,384
Are these files all the same size or are we looking at a mix? Small files can cause significant dips in throughput.
Maybe but my guess is something with the "cach" drive that probably doesn't need to be there or network complexity that doesn't need to be there
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
It is doing the same thing on what ever I try to move in to it most of the files was big movie files
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,384
Start removing variables.
1. Remove any tunables you set. Test
2. Remove cach drive, test
3. Direct connect your PC to Nas. Test

One of these things will probably give you better results.
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
OK i will try that and let you know. But just to add more info I was copying data from the NAS to my PC just to see how it is and I copied 1tb of data it newer droped bellow 100MB/s

And I will not be testing option #3 as my pc is upstairs and the server is downstairs on the other side of the house
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,384
OK i will try that and let you know. But just to add more info I was copying data from the NAS to my PC just to see how it is and I copied 1tb of data it newer droped bellow 100MB/s

And I will not be testing option #3 as my pc is upstairs and the server is downstairs on the other side of the house
Got a laptop or different computer to test with for step 3 or maybe just a different computer on the same network. Let's hope you 1 or 2 solve the problem.
 

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
Sorry it had taken me so long to reply but i have tried everything now i think i even started from scratch with the TRUENAS and still geting same issue
Just dont know what to do any more something must be wring with my Dell R710
 

sretalla

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
4,270
Your network card may have something to do with it...

Four embedded Broadcom® NetXtreme® II 5709c Gigabit Ethernet NIC (according to this https://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/pedge/r710-spec-sheet.pdf unless you opted for a custom NIC).

Generally speaking, only the Intel NIC driver is known to be stable and good for 1Gbe.

If you get the same results with an Intel NIC, we might be able to look into it, but I suspect it's the FreeBSD Broadcom NIC driver fighting us here. I guess you can consider yourself a bit lucky that it's not Realtek, which would possibly be causing kernel panics instead of backing the NIC off to 100Mbits (which might explain how you can fix it by changing any network setting.

With that said, if you want to go through the pain of trying your luck, you may find switching off the hardware offload option or seeing if you can force the settings to 1Gb somehow might get you somewhere.
 
Last edited:

Sarunce

Junior Member
Joined
May 7, 2021
Messages
13
so maybe you can advise what intel NIC i should get to work for me?
But it still supprising me as i dont change any network settings just reapply the same one :smile:
 
Top