Swapping Hardware - FreeNAS 9.2.1.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

rickdang

Cadet
I picked up a new computer with better specs and want to transfer my drives over... one of the drives has FreeNAS on it and I would like to bring that one over as well. Is it as simple as just moving the drives to the new machine and turning it on? Or will I run into issues?

These are the drives I have in there:

1 OS drive (FreeNAS 9.2.1.6)
2x4TB drives running ZFS (Raid 1), with ZVOL to run iSCSI
1x1TB drive

Everything I've searched is for FreeNAS 8.x... where they indicate to export the volumes first (or detach) but of course, a red screen comes up which scares the crap out of me. I'm really new with FreeNAS and admit a lot of it is very technical for me. If there's a better search term I should be using, I'd be happy to use it.

I tried installing a brand new version of FreeNAS onto a USB drive to run on the new machine, but for whatever reason, it keeps crashing to the point where I've flashed the USB drive 3 times now to get it back up and running. Is my best bet to install a fresh version of FreeNAS onto a new drive and bring the volumes over with the config export?

Thanks in advance!
Rick

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Is it as simple as just moving the drives to the new machine and turning it on? Or will I run into issues?
The answer is no to the first and yes to the second.

If there's a better search term I should be using, I'd be happy to use it.
imho if you are serious about using FreeNAS 9.2.1.6, you need to study some. Start with the forum stickies and get familiar with
the hardware requirements needed for securing your files. There may be someone willing to help you try and put a server together
but you will get more help if you first learn to help yourself. post your specs for the new machine you are building in a signature,
that way folks can see what you have before trying to help out.