Some Thoughts on the Forums - Please Read!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshDW19

Community Hall of Fame
I feel compelled that everyone needs to know the full story. I was sitting here while sipping my glass of earl gray tea when a member of the moderation team pinged me on IRC. They told me that they were browsing the forums the other day when a new user messaged them out of the blue and told them that I was unkind to him after he asked me how to create an array out of 20 generic USB flash drives he bought at the local gas station. Reluctantly, I admitted to the moderator that they were right. I was pretty upset with this user and had even told him he wasn’t my friend anymore. I feel bad about that, but we all have bad days. After some discussion and self-reflection on what led me to this point of unfriendliness, there was clearly only one way forward. Create a new theme that would inspire everyone on the forums.

Many of you know I’m an administrator on the FreeNAS forums and I happen to know a thing or two about CSS and javascript ;). Naturally, I went to my co-workers and the forum moderation team with this idea on re-theming the forums. After approximately 12 seconds of discussion, it was clear that everyone thought this was a terrible idea. One person even lamented this was a waste of time before rudely exiting. Unphased I proceeded to create a new theme that I’m sure you will agree is truly inspiring.

I knew what we needed was a new mascot that could help us send a better message on the FreeNAS Forums. I’m happy to announce the new FreeNAS mascots will now be ponies as you will see in the "Magical!" theme. Understanding the value of friendship isn’t always easy, but these ponies will be the perfect friendship ambassadors, and will hopefully help us remember the value of friendship. I hope you will all join me for this new rated G adventure in the FreeNAS forums.

Best Regards,

Josh

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
o_O

craigdt

Explorer