SOLVED SMART Status with RocketRaid 2720 SGL

Status
Not open for further replies.

BoyFonz

Cadet
Hi,

First of all, I should say I am new to FreeNas and *nix systems. So apologies if I've made some idiot mistake.

I have built a new NAS box with 6 drives in it. 2 are connected to the motherboard's SATA ports, and 4 are connected to a RocketRaid 2720 SGL via SAS.

FreeNas seems to b working well.

I ran some burn in tests on all 6 drives, and then tried to test the smart status of the drives over SSH with:

Code:
smartctl -A /dev/daX

That worked fine for the two drives attached to the motherboard directly. For the RocketRaid drives, I get the following output:

Code:
smartctl 6.3 2014-07-26 r3976 [FreeBSD 9.3-RELEASE-p5 amd64] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-14, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Vendor:               HPT
Product:              DISK 0_0
Revision:             4.00
User Capacity:        4,000,787,030,016 bytes [4.00 TB]
Logical block size:   512 bytes
Device type:          disk
Local Time is:        Thu Dec 11 14:18:18 2014 PST
SMART support is:     Unavailable - device lacks SMART capability.

=== START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
Request Sense failed, [Input/output error]
Error Counter logging not supported

Device does not support Self Test logging

All 6 drives are the same brand and model - WD Red 4TB.

The RocketRaid BIOS utility is the latest version, it is in JBOD mode and it shows SMART as enabled.

FreeNas shows all disks as Smart Enabled = true in the "View Disks" screen.

I should also mention that I was previously attempting this test on version 9.2.1.9, and I received a slightly different error message there:

Code:
CAM Status: CCB request was invalid