Setting up 2 nodes with failover

Hi all, complete noob here.

I have set up True NAS Scale on two servers (let's call them TN1 and TN2) and created storage on TN1. I'd love to set up TN2 as a failover for TN1 and I cannot seem to figure out how to do it. I saw somewhere that Minio was an option, and when I went down that path I couldn't get it to work.

Is there a way get TN2 to see the same storage as TN1 (they're all plugged into the same JBOD) and then act as a failover if TN1 dies?

Thank you!

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hello!

Performing reliable failover while maintaining the data integrity promises of ZFS is challenging; due to the integration with the hardware and the customization required, the "shared-storage clustering" you're looking to implement is only supported with TrueNAS Enterprise on the M-series platform.

Other forms of clustering are available with SCALE including a mirrored cluster, but this is designed to have each system carry its own storage in a "Scale-Out" fashion.

TrueNAS_SCALE_Layout_options.jpg

NWMrTIm

Cadet
I've been trying to figure out the same thing for quite some time, and I read through the article Honeybadger posted that shows that graphic but never really got solid answers.

So looking at this, would the "federated storage" be "mirrored storage at two locations" (two locations that each have a storage device) and the "mirrored storage" be like "mirrored storage at one location (two storage devices at one location)?

I think OP is going for the: "I have two NAS devices and one goes offline, loses network, reboots, or something, but everything keeps running because TN1 and TN2 are redundant" type of setup. I think I'll try to set that up.

But I want to ask HoneyBadger:

When you say: the "shared-storage clustering" you're looking to implement is only supported with TrueNAS Enterprise on the M-series platform.