Requesting docker-compose example

hhinma

Cadet
I am looking for a simple, detailed example on how to implement a docker-compose based application in TrueNAS SCALE, or pointers to where I can find this information. All of the material I have found so far rapidly delves into discussions about k3s and helm charts and all manner of capabilities that are provided by that - I cannot find a simple, direct answer to the question "how do I migrate my docker compose application to run in TrueNAS scale"? I am hoping the info is in here somewhere and that I just haven't found it yet.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Since a helm chart is what you need at the end, I suppose starting here is a good idea:

I'm no expert on how to then use that in the Apps section, but I think the truecharts catalog provides this template for exactly the purpose you're talking about so you can make your own app list:

ornias

Wizard
"how do I migrate my docker compose application to run in TrueNAS scale"?
What you are basically asking is:
"How do I migrate docker-compose to helm-kubernetes?"

And the answer is always:
manually with hard labour, either by yourself or using the work others have done already.

Ixian

Patron
I cannot find a simple, direct answer to the question "how do I migrate my docker compose application to run in TrueNAS scale"? I am hoping the info is in here somewhere and that I just haven't found it yet.

You aren't able to find the answer because it doesn't exist. There's no easy way to do it. You need to figure out what the equivalents are in Kubernetes - in some cases, this is simple, in others, not - and basically re-create it. You can do this with the app templates provided, or in newer releases of SCALE you can add single "docker" apps via the GUI though in the end those are just docker containers run inside a k3s pod.