Repurpose old desktop as TrueNas Server - Hardware and setup thoughts?

bigdonk

Dabbler
I have spent the last few weeks reading posts and am ready to get some opinions. I am new to server setup, but fairly computer savvy.

I am only using this in a small Home Network (2-3 desktops, occasional laptop/chromebooks) and I am sick of slow transfer speeds and no redundancy.

I would like to repurpose an old desktop I have and would like to get thoughts on its hardware.
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Mobo (Only 4 sata3 connections)
  • Intel i7-3770k
  • 32gb ram
  • OCZ 256gb SSD
  • OCZ Fatal1ty 750w Power Supply
  • Full Tower with Fan Cooling
  • Server will be stored in a 62-65°F room and server noise shouldn't be a concern.
Use:
  • Just being used as a Home Server. I have a plex server that runs off a desktop and I plan on leaving it there as it has multiple internal tuner cards. The plex media will be stored on the server. Currently about 3tb of data which will most likely double quickly if I have the space.
  • Want to store library folders for all users. I originally thought this was large, but it turns out it will end up being well less than 1tb.
  • I wanted to have a few tb reserved for some pics and videos all though we currently have those stored for free in the cloud.
  • I am a little undecided on CORE vs SCALE as I have recently toyed with containers, but was leaning CORE.
If I were to run (4) 8gb drives (Seagate IronWolf), should I add a controller as the other 4 ports are Sata2?
With my currently low space needs, is 4 drives too many. The 8gb is currently the best bang for my buck on prime day right now.
I wouldn't mind adding another drive to use for jails which is also new to me. Maybe I am better using containers instead and going SCALE?
Thoughts on drive configurations?

I need to learn more on jails/containers as I could see myself using them as I occasionally mess with virtual machines and it seems like these would be much better served than VMs.