RE-Evaluating TrueNAS from the Historical Perspective..

Status
Not open for further replies.

indivision

Guru
Naming things and expiring caches - there is a reason these are frequently named the hardest problems in software development.
As a developer, I would suggest that refers more to naming conventions in the software itself. ie. how to name variables, functions and classes in a way that is helpful.
You create a particular image with some message. And the originator and messenger are the ones whose duty is considering the impact on the target audience and phrasing the message accordingly.
I think this is more of marketing thing than development. But, agreed.

I just don't see where iX has done anything outside of typical use of the terminology.
I'll be giving a talk with much TrueNAS content and endorsement tomorrow and I am still thinking about where to put SCALE in the global context.

If you are interested:
Thank you! Looks interesting. I will check it out if I don't end up with a conflict at that time.

NickF

Guru
Hi Again Morgan,

It's the PITA again. :)
I think most of the conflict comes from the expectation that the day 1 use-case was business users with scale-out requirements. That might be your business requirement and our aspiration, but we always understood that production users would be reluctant to leap from Isilon or Nutanix to an unproven SCALE infrastructure. We are planning for a long game, not a short game.

We deliberately chose a strategy to enable home labs and single node systems to be useful to enable a platform of software quality. You can argue with calling it "TrueNAS SCALE" but in the long term, it seems to be a good name and changing names is difficult. Without that early-adopter market, we'd be very slow to deliver enterprise-quality.

The blog for 22.02.2 was actually very clear about the status of TrueNAS SCALE. Some may have missed this, but we try very hard to be clear on where we are at: