RE-Evaluating TrueNAS from the Historical Perspective..

Status
Not open for further replies.

NickF

Guru
Copied from my Reddit post

I should have titled this A Fanboi's Overly Emotional response to recent releases...

TLDR; I love TrueNAS but I am concerned about the future.

I've been using FreeNAS since 2014. At that time, I was nothing more but a nerd looking for a place to store his movie collection. Since, I have become an IT manager for a very large school district. I've used FreeNAS in a variety of ways both personally and professionally, but I have only ever been a consumer of this technology. I am grateful for all of the hard work and efforts that have gone into making TrueNAS a stable and reliable product, and even more grateful for the fact that it's entirely free and open source.

However, I am a bit concerned about several recent releases and trends from the IX Systems team over the past couple of years and I am worried that the developers are repeating the same mistakes of their collective pasts. Whoever is reading this should have no reason to listen to anything I have to say, but I feel motivated to say it anyway.