Problem with permissions, multiple shares & multiple users

Status
Not open for further replies.

killhefferc

Cadet
I apologize in advance if I'm posting in the wrong topic, and I've been searching for a solution for this for a while without any luck.
I'm new to FreeNAS (and any server OS software in fact) and posting in forums, so go easy on me.

I'm setting up a server for a non-profit organization and I'm having some problems with user permissions.

What I'm trying to accomplish:
10 SMB shares on the FreeNAS server, and 8 users who only have access to specific shares.

What I have done so far:
Using the wizard I created the 10 SMB shares. In the owner section for each share, I left the owner as root and created a group with a name that matches the share name. I checked read, write, and execute for owner and group. I unchecked read, write, and execute for other.

I created all 8 of the users on the server as well and selected the groups for the shares that I wanted each user to have access to.

The problem:
Once any of the users' inputs their credentials, they have read, and execute permissions to every share regardless of whether they are in the share group or not. The strange part is that the write permissions work as intended.

I need users to be completely denied access to shares that they weren't added to.

I read up on how to do this in the guide built into FreeNAS and I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

killhefferc

Cadet
Windows or non windows clients?
Hello! All Windows clients. The client computer that I was testing the permissions on was running Windows 7, but they will be getting all new computers with W10 on them soon.

garm

Wizard
From what info you have I have no clue about the root cause of your issue, but I do know that following @m0nkeys guide you shouldn’t have the same issues

Dreded

Explorer
Oh I see, but how do I make it so users that aren't in the group can't open the share?