jcknox

Cadet
Not sure what happened but my pool went offline. I'm a bit of a newbie on TruNAS so any help would be greatly appreciated. This is what I am seeing in the UI. I didn't want to start messing with anyting until I asked here first for fear of losing all my data. Anyone have any ideas?

1662774989269.png

1662775002588.png

1662775017737.png

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
From a shell, what does zpool import show? Also, please provide details of your hardware, per the Forum Rules.

jcknox

Cadet
Thanks. This is what I see when running zpool import.

1662776330080.png

My hardware is as follows:

Running TrueNAS as a VM in ESXI Enviroment

1662776611204.png

1662776554354.png

Samuel Tai

How are you providing drives to the TrueNAS VM?

If you're doing raw device mapping, it's known to result in data loss like this. The only tried and true way of doing this is passing through a PCI HBA with physical disks attached.

Do you have backups? Because recovering from this will involve expensive tools, like Klennet ZFS Recovery, if you don't.

jcknox

Cadet
I'm passing through a PCI HBA with physical disks attached. I don't have any backups.

I saw an article where someone suggested the following but said it may result in some data loss if it works. Still better than losing everything. Thought I might try it; just not sure how to determine which disk to run it on.

zpool import -fF -R /mnt Vol0

Samuel Tai

What model of HBA, and is it running in IT mode? You may have a RAID controller running in JBOD mode instead of a real HBA.

The syntax in your case is zpool import -fF -R /mnt TruNAS. You use the pool name, not the individual disks. However, I don't think this will work, as pool metadata is corrupt.

jcknox

Cadet
I'm running a Perc H700 on an old PowerEdge 710. Don't think the Perc can be run in IT mode. It's been working fine for a few years, but we recently moved and sadly had a power outage before I had the UPS hooked up.

Samuel Tai