Nextcloud stuck on updating (need a fix fast!)

Hi there!

Im pretty new to all the server things. I’m currently running a TrueNAS server, for Nextcloud. It runs perfectly. Till today… I use Nextcloud for my company, so it is really essential.

I tried to update Nextcloud via the GUI. It worked, but now it keeps updating. When I go to the IP it said a update in process. And when I go to /updater it saids something with step 6.

How can I fix this?

ddaenen1

Patron
You are not giving us much to work with here. You tried to update from which GUI, within NC or within TrueNAS? Have you tried restarting the plugin? There are many posts on updating issues on step 5 and there are a number of fixes for this. The majority talk about deleting the updater -file from the data directory and restart.

Well thanks for your reply. I’ve looked over 20 posts and I’m trying for 3 days now.

I did the update inside NC.

How can I delete this file? Can you help me with that?

@ddaenen1

ddaenen1

Patron
Sure, i will do my best. First of all, if you use the plugin, do not update NC from within the NC GUI. It may work, but you will get into trouble if you want to upgrade via the plugin later, which sometimes is necessary as the plugin doesn't only update NC but also the supporting structure.

Stop the jail, find the updater directory, it should be located in /usr/local/www/nextcloud/data/ . The directory should be named as "updater-bunchofrandomcharacters", assuming you have some basic CLI knowledge, remove that directory and restart the jail.

I have been in a very similar situation as yourself in the past and managed to save it.

Last edited:
Well, thanks! I tried removing it, but I'm not an expert with it. How do I remove it? I tried 'rm' 'rmdir' and some other. Also tried te command below. Can you help me with removing it?

Schermafbeelding 2021-12-08 om 18.55.48.png

@ddaenen1

ddaenen1

Patron