Newbie FreeNAS build (old PC components vs. new server components)

Tobsen

Dabbler
Hello community,

I am new to FreeNas and this is my first build.

I read the hardware recommendations as well as several threads here and I am not 100% sure what is recommended in my case.

First of all, I am a filmmaker that needs lots of storage for archiving projects (current archive 45 TB) that are only occationally needed once finished. I also have a workstation with very fast storage (8TB in flash storage running in Raid5) for projects being worked on that I would like to backup as well.

My current workflow for data ingestion and backup is as follows:

Shooting to SD card or SSD -> transfer to shuttle disk for transportation -> copy from shuttle disk to workstation -> copy to archive disks xxA and xxB - > copy project files and their backups after mastering project from workstation to archive disks

The intended archive server will be my "A" copy. The "B" copy will remain on single disks right now.

Here is what I have left over:

Intel i7-8700K (with Noctua cooler)
ASRock Z370M Pro4
Ripjaws 16GB F4-3200C16D
Seasonic Focus 750w FX

Here is the rest I am planning to use:

Fractal Define 7 XL case
8x14TB WD RED (for archive, already purchased)
LSI 9300-8i HBA
Chelsio t520-so-cr
SFP+ to 10gBase-T adapter to connect to home network

a second pool of drives ( 4x 4TB Ironwolf NAS) can also be considered for backing up all data and working files from workstation.

I am not sure if I should repurpose old PC parts or sell them to buy dedicated server components (Intel and Supermicro) or even go with a Ryzen 5/ASrock Rack X470D4U setup.

I really appreciate any advice.

Tobsen

Dabbler
I forgot to mention my second question.

In my particular case, should I gor for Raid-Z (1 or 2) or striped mirros. With Raid-Z2 for instance, I should have around 67TB of usable storage (80% of 84TB) leaving me with 22 TB headroom, which will last for 1.5-2 years. Then I would need to expand somehow.