New storage server build - will it FreeNAS?

Mattias Hedman

Dabbler
So I am about to rebuild my storage server at home and this is whats going in:
ASUS TUF B450M-PLUS GAMING
AMD Ryzen 3 2200G 3.7 GHz 6MB
Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200Mhz CL16 Vengeance
5 WD Red 2 Tb
3 WD Black Enterprise 2 Tb
1 Samsung EVO 850 500 Gb SSD
If need: 1 Samsung 840 250 Gb SSD
Delock PCI-E SATA card
All will be powered with a Crosair 1000 W PSU.

Will it work?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Unless you are repurposing parts that are already owned by you, this is a terrible assortment of parts.
I hope you are not going to insist on using this with FreeNAS.

Mattias Hedman

Dabbler
Unless you are repurposing parts that are already owned by you, this is a terrible assortment of parts.
I hope you are not going to insist on using this with FreeNAS.
All but the three first ones are things I already own.
Why are they a terrible assortment?

racielrod

Explorer
Hi Mattias,

I'm a total rookie here but a few things that you will find it is general consensus here in the forum:
  • Stick to Intel architecture
  • Avoid gaming hardware - I think the main reason here is the Realtek chipsets you find on these boards.
  • When possible build with server grade hardware.
  • Always use ECC memory...
I think that is why @Chris Moore referred to this as "terrible assortment" but I'm not going to talk here on his behalf.
Guys like Chris have been providing guidance for years on proven hardware to build your FreeNAS... some of that hardware is old, but reliable and very accessible.

I think a good starting point might be the link on Chris' signature:
https://www.ixsystems.com/community/resources/links-to-useful-threads.108/

I'm putting my first build together after some research and a lot of reading:
https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/new-x9srl-f-build-fine-tuning.74551/

Thanks,
Rasiel

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer