BUILD New Home Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacopx

Patron
Hello everyones, i'm using freenas since about 1 year. I've used some "recycled" components from an old desktop computer. I like a lot this system and i have decided to build a new good power server. I'm not an expert of hardware and i'm here to ask your help to avoid problem. These are my hypothetical parts:

Mobo: Supermicro X10SRL-F (315€) ---> Supermicro X9SRA (291€)
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2670 SR0KX (120€)
Cooler: Noctua NH-U12DX i4 (65€) ---> Cooler Master Hyper T4 (35€)
SSD: SanDisk ReadyCache 32gb (34€)
RAM: 16GB 2133MHz, Reg, 2 Rank ECC (130€) ---> 16GB - 1600MHz, ECC, Reg (128€)
PSU: 550W al least
HHD: around 3-8 drives of 3 TB
Case: Antec One (60€)

These are my question:
1) Are all of my part compatible?
2) I really need the SSD for the system? Or an USB is enough?
3) 380W are quiet good for the power?
4) Is there some less expensive mobo good for my system?

For now, i'm think that i have asked enough, i'm waiting for your answers!

Last edited:

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
2) why would you need ssd for the OS? The recommendation has typically always been run it off a quality USB thumb drive.

3) not for that number of drives

Jacopx

Patron
2) why would you need ssd for the OS? The recommendation has typically always been run it off a quality USB thumb drive.

3) not for that number of drives

2) Yes, i don't now why...
3) how many drive can i manage with di power?

Mr_N

Patron
I wouldn't use 3TB drives :)

With 380W i wouldn't go above 4 drives but really depends on what your system uses without any to begin with...

Jacopx

Patron
I wouldn't use 3TB drives :)

With 380W i wouldn't go above 4 drives but really depends on what your system uses without any to begin with...

Why? (For the drives hint)

Ok, thanks! ;)

Mr_N

Patron
so many problems with 3TB drives from seagate, and I'm skipping 6TB ones also :P

Jacopx

Patron