New Build Configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

eye3

Dabbler
This is my second try at this build. My first configuration had an ATX mother board in a mini ITX case. I ended up switching over to a Skylake processor and then found out all of the issues with the USB boot drives. Below is my new proposed configuration. If you guys could take a look at this and let me know if I'm overlooking something I would appreciate it. I also restated my use case.

My use case for FreeNAS is a Time Machine backup server, plex, emby, sabnzbd, couch potato and plex. I'll also use FreeNAS as an iSCSI target for an ESXi machine that I have. I'm an Systems Engineer so I use the ESXi machine in a limited fashion to mock up integration projects. I'm not so concerned with IOPS performance since my VMs will not be used for production purposes.

I currently have two Macs that I'll use Time Machine for and I would plan to have an additional two machines in the future. I also plan use AFP shares for additional centralized storage for my macs (ISO's, etc..).

As far as plex and the other home theater components I plan to store 1080p movie files. I'll probably move to 4k in the next couple years as the media becomes more readily available.

Here is my proposed build.

Case: Fractal Node 804
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5 SkyLake 3.5 GHz
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSH-F-O
RAM: 2X Samsung M391A2K43BB1-CPB 16GB ECC DDR4 2133 (32 GB Total)
Power Supply: Sea Sonic G550
Disks: 8X WD Red 4TB (RAID-Z2)
Boot Disk: Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD 128GB (Plan on repurpossing this in the future once the Skylake USB issues are resolved)
UPS: ???

I ended up going with the E3-1245 over the E3-1240 for the Quicksync support. I know Plex doesn't support Quicksync acceleration but I figured if they do at some point it was worth it for the extra $15.

joeschmuck

Old Man