Advice on New Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

eye3

Dabbler
Hello. I'm new to the forum and new to FreeNAS. I've been reading some of the stickies, forum posts and the ZFS Powerpoint presentation for the past couple weeks. I'm now ready to start building my system and I would like some of your more experienced members to let me know if there are some issues with my hardware configuration.

My use case for FreeNAS is a Time Machine backup server, plex, sabnzbd, couch potato and plex. I'll also use FreeNAS as an iSCSI target for an ESXi machine that I have. I'm an Systems Engineer so I use the ESXi machine in a limited fashion to mock up integration projects. I'm not so concerned with IOPS performance since my VMs will not be used for production purposes.

I currently have two Macs that I'll use Time Machine for and I would plan to have an additional two machines in the future. I also plan use AFP shares for additional centralized storage for my macs (ISO's, etc..).

As far as plex and the other home theater components I plan to store 1080p movie files. I'll probably move to 4k in the next couple years as the media becomes more readily available.

Here is my proposed build.

Case: Fractal Node 804
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5 SkyLake 3.5 GHz
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSM-F-O
RAM: 2X Crucial CT16G4RFD4213 16GB DDR4 2133 (32 GB Total)
Power Supply: Sea Sonic G550
Disks: 6X WD Red 4TB (RAID-Z2)
UPS: ???
Bootdisks: 2 SanDisk Cruiser low profile 32gb USB sticks.

USB Expansion Card: This will be used for the two USB stick boot disks since FreeNAS does support onboard USB Port boot disks with Skylake. If anyone has some suggestions on a specific compatible USB 2.0 PCIe expansion card I would appreciate some input.

Network Infrastructure: 24 port gigabit switch