New build advice: Microserver Gen 10+

luckyluke699

Dabbler
Hello all, newbie here. I've recently purchased a HP Microserver Gen 10 Plus (entry), to replace my older HP Gen 7 N54L. I'd love some advice on how to best make use of the limited internal ports available for my TrueNAS build! :smile:
There's a great reviews of the Microserver here and a customisation guide here, which should answer most questions someone might have.

PORTS: Ideally, I'd like to keep the 4x internal bays free for RaidZ1 storage. The ports left available are:
- 1x Internal USB 2.0
- 1x PCIE x16 (motherboard supports bifurcation x8x8 only, not x4x4x4x4)
- 5x External USB 3.2

SPEC/UPGRADES:
- Intel i3-9100F CPU.
- 64GB (2x32GB) Crucial 2666Mhz RAM (model: CT32G4RFD4266).
- HP ILO Enablement card
- 4x older 3TB 3.5 HDDs (current). Will upgrade to 4x Western Digital 10-12TBs when funds allow. Probably shucked from WD Elements or WD Black D10.

NAS USAGE:
- Home use only: 2-4 users.
- Samba/NFS shares.
- 4k streaming and possibly transcoding. Have used Kodi till now, but considering Plex/Emby going forward.
- Simple jails & plugin use (e.g. SABnzbd, couchpotato etc).
- Possibly 1-2 bhyve VMs.

ADDITIONAL POINTS:
- Stability is my highest priority, at an affordable price point.
- Single (non-mirrored) boot is ok. Happy to rebuild from backup if things go wrong.
- All critical data is backed up to external drive already.
- I have modest *nix skills, principally following guides and figuring things out.
- I don't understand how/when to decide to opt for L2ARC/SLOG etc. There is too much (often conflicting) guidance and information on these subjects for the uninitiated.

QUESTIONS (AND ASSUMPTIONS/OPTIONS)?
- Given my use NAS usage, spec and limited ports (listed above), I am guessing I would not 'require' (or would see minimal benefit from) a dedicated cache SSD drive?