Networking over Thunderbolt?

CookieMonster

Dabbler
For devices which cannot have a proper 10Gbe NIC, but would like faster connection nevertheless:

Does TrueNAS Scale support Thunderbolt bridge networking?
E.g., Macs do, and if I wanted to connect my server to MacBook over Thunderbolt, would that work?

Would it work for baremetal TN?
Would it work for TN over Proxmox or other hypervisor?

Thank you

Davvo

MVP
As long as you are not using it to connect the server to the network, you are in the safe zone. TN itself doesn't care about how the clients connect to the network.

Etorix

Wizard
But does TrueNAS supports Thunderbolt netwoking at all? I doubt it does.
A Mac without 10 GbE can connect to a 10 GbE NIC over Thunderbolt: That's a better solution.

gdreade

Dabbler
Sonnet (https://www.sonnettech.com/) also carries a selection of products for connecting thunderbold ports to ethernet networks. I've found their 10Gbe products to be solid (I've no experience with their other products, but suspect the build quality would match).

CookieMonster

Dabbler
Sonnet (https://www.sonnettech.com/) also carries a selection of products for connecting thunderbold ports to ethernet networks. I've found their 10Gbe products to be solid (I've no experience with their other products, but suspect the build quality would match).

Yeah, I've seen it. As well as OWC, Startech, etc.
They all have complaints of overheating and dropping connection when in use for longer than 5 minutes.
There is no reliable external 10 Gbe adapter on the market right now, hence this topic.

Etorix

Wizard
Yeah, I've seen it. As well as OWC, Startech, etc.
They all have complaints of overheating and dropping connection when in use for longer than 5 minutes.