Need a NAS for Steam Games Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiwill0v2

Cadet
TL;DR Need to install steam games on an other pc than the ony i'm playing with and windows sharing isn't cutting it

Hello, i'm a bit new in the server world and i was refered by a person on an other forum. So Basically, i need to build a NAS that will be used to only Store files and games, i want to be able to install steam on any machines plugged to my network and be able to just add a Steam library to the setting and not having the games taking space directly on my gaming pc.

For now, i've just installed windows 10 pro 32bits and shared the drives. and after that i got on my gaming pc, open steam and add a library to the shared files and after that installed games but i have somes problem, somes games refuse to install, they block at some point and give me a "Write disk error" on steam... i was able to install like 77 games of my 86 perfectly fine and they seams to run perfectly without any fps drop or any problem.

so the other person talked to me about iscsi but he also said i would need some really beefy hardware wich beside my gaming pc i don't really have. but what i do have is a bunch of old pc(Core 2 Quad/Core 2 Duo/AM2 processors) so what i have in mind now would be: could i create a freenas that would work for what i want to do? do i need special hardware like raid cards etc... and also, do i need all the drives to be the same? because i have LOTS of old HDD i could use for it but if it's a necessity, i will buy somes.

Right now, my NAS has a Core 2 Quad Q9400 if i remember right, 2GB of ram(i also have a lot more if needed), i have a 320gb hdd for the Windows, a 2tb hdd as "safe" storage and a raid 0(bios level) of 3 hdd 1tb for the games and temporary storage.

if you want more details about what the other person said to me about iscsi, go here: https://linustechtips.com/main/topi...on-separate-pc/?tab=comments#comment-13511379