NAS Build for small VFX Company. Need input from experienced users.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I own a small VFX company which finally needs a more decent storage solution, over the last days I've investigated quite a lot.
And I think that I'll go with FreeNAS and a Build according to my/our needs. If any of you experienced FreeNAS users could answer me some questions and possibly have a look at my build, that would be much appreciated. Thanks for your Time!
Please keep in mind, it's my first time ever building a NAS. I've read quite a lot before making this post.

My Environment:
Regular 1 Gbit/s network.
A small Render Farm with 5 PC's occasionally pulling bigger amounts of data (<10 Gigabytes) from the NAS (i.e. loading 3D scenes in order to render).
2 Workstations, both need to occasionally access files and sometimes transfer large amounts of data to or from the NAS.

Requirements:
The NAS needs to be able to securely store large amounts of data.
The NAS needs to do drive encryption.
I need to be able to recover all data in case of Hardware Failure.
Optional: I need to be able to use link aggregation in order to provide >1Gbits to multiple computers in the network.

My Questions:
I've seen a lot of FreeNAS tutorials where people are using USB flash drives to store the OS. Aren't USB flash drives kinda vulnerable for storing an OS?
Regarding that, will I be able to recover my data in case of a OS-drive failure? Or (for some reason) OS failure in general?
In case of any other hardware failure, (CPU, RAM etc.) will I be able to just exchange parts and everything runs as it did before?
The MoBo I'm considering has 2 NIC's, will I be able to use the link aggregation features of FreeNas to provide theoretical 2 Gbit/s of bandwidth towards the other computers in the network?

So here is my build, I've mostly followed recommendations from this forum:
Mobo:
ASRock E3C236D2I Intel C236 So.1151 Dual Channel DDR4 Mini-ITX Retail
CPU: