Multi-user Time Machine purpose

pedz

Dabbler
Search finds a nice thread on this topic but it references something that is gone. So... To start... I'm new to TrueNAS.

I created a Data set with nothing funny. Called it time_machine. It is case sensitive.

I created an SMP share and with Purpose I put Multi-user Time Machine. It then asks me to fiddle with the ACLs and I used the Home preset.

Now, when I go to my Mac and try to use it as my Time Machine Backup, it says "The selected network backup disk does not support the required capabilities."

I can mount it and move data into it and the data goes into the .../time_machine/pedz (my id) directory.

pedz

Dabbler
I’m too new to fully understand all the implications but here is what I found.

First, this seems to be a very common problem and started with 10.12. I never found a “this is the solution” post.

I created a new Dataset called Temp and gave it a quote for the Dataset and its children. This seems to be a common theme in many of the user reports and debugging. I then created an AFP share (skipping the warning) and clicked the Time Machine box. I wasn’t keeping notes but as I recall, that is all I did and it worked.

I kept trying to get the existing time_machine Dataset and SMP share to work by adding quotas on the Dataset as well as for the people but it never would work.

I deleted the Temp and time_machine Dataset which deleted the matching shares and started again from scratch. Created the Dataset called time_machine and gave it a 2T quota for it and its children. Then created an SMP share with Multi-user Time Machine purpose. I looked at the advanced options but I’m 99% sure I didn’t change anything. When I click save it then has a pop up asking if I want to set up the ACLs. Last time I set up the ACLs, hit the HOME preset, and perhaps did other things but I don’t think so. This time I just hit cancel. The share shows it is set to Default.

The Mac is now happy using it as the time machine backup.