Mirrored two-way offsite NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drummert

Cadet
Hi all,

So, after a few years of not using FreeNAS I want to get back to using it, properly. My situation is this:

I am an audio engineer with quite some data storage needs which all need to be safely backed up. I'm of the type that likes to store things in three different places, one needed to be offsite, to feel safe about my backup. Also, I would like to send my family photos with it as well, since we are doing this anyway.

My idea is to put one NAS on our side with my backups and put one NAS with my parents, who live 2 hours drive away. The idea is that I am responsible for putting the files from my own system to the NAS myself (no automation needed). The NAS then copies the files to the offsite at my parents in its own time. My parents want to do the same the other way around, since my mother is a enthusiast-photographer with quite some data footprint as well. All in all this makes a system like this:

- Me and my mother put our files in the NAS on our end ourselves, no automation needed
- The NAS then copies the files to their respective mirrors at the offsite.
- If a NAS crashes, catches fire, gets smashed or simply vanishes into thin air a new NAS has to be able to pick up and get the full backup again.
- We don't have to reach each others backup that are stored on our end.
- My parents have a static IP, unfortunately I do not...

The static IP I can solve with something like no-ip or so. Also, I have to be able to reach the offsite to manage it.

What our my best options? Am I looking at something that is possible with simple tools or am I going to end up with something too expensive for enthusiasts needs?

Last edited by a moderator:

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality