Making a TrueNAS SCALE server as a first IT project

TheGeekn°72

Dabbler
Hi there fellas,

I've just started on TrueNAS and since I'm a beginner in this general area of IT, I wanted to inquire People Who Know on my project and tell me if they have any advices, comments, if there's anything I should look out for while handling this and what not

I put everything in a thread on the LTT server so I'll just link it here to avoid just making doubloons across the internet : https://linustechtips.com/topic/1496088-my-first-personal-tinker-project-as-an-it-student/

I got almost all the hardware, will probably get the last of it next week, planning to RAID-Z1 3x4TB Ironwolf drives to it, fire comments away !

Geek, over and out

TheGeekn°72

Dabbler
Hi there fellas,

I'm getting my last orders delivered tomorrow and so inching ever closer to actual setup time, issue is, as I'm looking up info regarding RAIDing drives, I'm not quite sure if I can be confident about the content I'm reading and as such I wanted to ask to people familiar with RAID-Z and if RZ1 is actually the way to go for my planned 3x4TB config or if there was other options I missed/didn't consider
At first I was planning on using RAID 5 then realised that due to the file system used, RAID-Z1 would be better then there went the rabbit hole of googling info and having 3445864 results to read opinions from lol

Fire away, I'm all eyes !

Geek, over and out

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
What's the actual goal here? It's hard to provide any meaningful info for an abstract tinkering thing, much like working on a car - it's not a goal, it's a means to an end.

TheGeekn°72

Dabbler
What's the actual goal here? It's hard to provide any meaningful info for an abstract tinkering thing, much like working on a car - it's not a goal, it's a means to an end.
I put literally everything there is to know in the post just above mate :D

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality