Looking for input on first dedicated build

Status
Not open for further replies.

callalawyer

Cadet
Hello all! This is my first time posting on the FreeNAS forums. I've been a lurker for a while now, checking out other peoples builds, reading the stickied posts from the very knowledgeable community members, and just trying to take in as much as possible. I've been running FreeNAS 9.3 for a couple/three months on an older AMD rig that I am ready to replace. That's what brings me to you! I would love some feedback/input from those out there that walk the walk.

I'd like to state that the purpose for the NAS is twofold; 1. hosting VM's for 4x Dell R610's running ESXi 5.5. 2. hosting my personal media collection, which mainly consists of BluRay source content.

I happen to have been given 2x Xeon E5-2640 v2's (8-Core 2.0ghz). From the reading I've done these might be both a little bit overkill in general, but also under-perfomers when it comes to Samba (which is fine b/c I only have one Windows workstation). So keep that in mind! I am open to the possibility of selling those proc's for something better suited for the task, if it comes to that. Here's what I'm thinking for the build:

Boot : 2x SanDisk 16gb Cruzer Fit USB drives
CPU : 2x Xeon E5-2640 v2 -already own
RAM: 64GB ECC RAM (4x Cisco UCS-MR-1X162RY-A) -already own
MB : ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16
PSU : Dual 900w Supermicro PSU pws-902-1R
Case : 4U Supermicro 24 Bay SC846E1-R900B

VM OS's : 2x Intel DC 3700 400gb SSD's (Striped) -already own
VM App Storage : 5x Lenovo SATA 2 128gb SSD's (RaidZ1) -already own
Media Storage : 5x Western Digital RE 2TB drives (RaidZ1)
ZIL Drive : Kingston 128gb SSD -already own