BUILD First time freenas build

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnpr40

Cadet
Hello all

This is my first attempt so please be gentle, I have done loads of reading and this is what I have come up with, I was going initially for the Avoton build but like the idea of being able to upgrade components individually at a later date. This will be a home use server with around 1-5 users at any one time, future looking at jails, plex etc.

Not looking at massive initial performance (file storage only) so holding back on a Xeon at the moment to keep costs lower for now, I will be using the Pentium for another project later so will not be wasted

Motherboard Supermicro x10SL7-F £230 or X10SLH-f £230

For x10SL7-F am I right in thinking I can use SAS2 to SATA cables to use the 8x SAS2 ports

Processor Pentium G3258 £55

Memory Crucial CT2KIT102472BD160B 16GB (2x 8GB) £103

PSU Seasonic G550 550W 80+ Gold Certified PSU Semi modular £80

Boot Cruzer Fit 8 GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (SDCZ33-08G-B35) £4.19

Case Fractal Design Define R5 Computer Case £90

Hard disks 4x WD red 4TB, already have

Any help or guidance will be gratefully appreciated, thank you.

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Why X10 and not X11? And why X10SL7-F or X10SLH-F? They're very different boards, and the X10SLH-F doesn't bring much to the table that the X10SL7-F does - at the same price, the X10SL7-F is a no-brainer.

In any case, it looks fine. If you go the X11 route, you'd want an X11SSL-CF (or X11SSM-F).

For x10SL7-F am I right in thinking I can use SAS2 to SATA cables to use the 8x SAS2 ports
The X10SL7-F exposes SATA-style ports. Regular SATA cables work fine here.

This is almost identical to my system, which has been working flawlessly since I built it early in the year. Same mother board, CPU, RAM and PSU, HD make, model and size. The only difference is the case and number of data drives and boot devices. I'm using the Fractal Design Node 804 and currently have 6 drives.