Jellyfin and folder structures in TrueNas scale

Lennuk

Cadet
Hello!
Sorry in advance, I am a total noob in everything related to NAS, coding, linux etc.

So, i recently got into building my own NAS. I somehow managed to get the system running on TrueNAS scale. But nearly everything after that seemed to fail.

I set up an SMB share, which works perfectly fine. I installed the catalog of Truecharts, to be able to install "Jellyfin" as an App. I got it running (while ignoring every setting on the Installation out of the fear, I would break something). But when I try to add a "Media Library", I cannot choose the path to my movie folder in my SMB share, it just doesn't show up.

I also tried to create an folder with the "generic" share type, which i then could choose as a path, but then I don't know how to copy files to "generic share type folders".

Sorry for the bad explaination of my problem, it is hard to describe a problem, you don't even understand yourself... many hours of research on my own lead to nothing.

My question now is, is there any tutorial on how to set up a proper folder structure for Jellyfin, to then just use it to fill it with my media and get it working?

danb35

Hall of Famer
ignoring every setting on the Installation out of the fear, I would break something). But when I try to add a "Media Library", I cannot choose the path to my movie folder in my SMB share,
These two things are related. Jellyfin, like all the other apps, runs in its own container, and can only access the locations in your filesystem you give it access to. You'll need to add the path to your movie folder as a Host Path to the app.

Lennuk

Cadet
These two things are related. Jellyfin, like all the other apps, runs in its own container, and can only access the locations in your filesystem you give it access to. You'll need to add the path to your movie folder as a Host Path to the app.
Thank you very much for your fast reply.

Can I still add Host Paths after the installation?