Issue with Plex Media Server not being able to see media

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melvin_8910

Cadet
Hello everyone.

I am very new to FreeNAS and the forums, as I have just built my system and installed the OS not too long ago.

Ideally, this is what I would like to accomplish:
-Media Files in a dataset that is accessible through a share only by a group with approved users (not through guest access), and also accessible to Plex.

I understand that not having the share set as 'allowing guest access' creates some problems with Plex being able to see the media files. I have spent the better part of the past 6 hours reading all the forums I could find regarding Plex and share permissions, to no avail. But then, I realized that I did not even see if Plex could see the media files I had added with the guest access allowed.

So, I wiped the entire filesystem, created a main volume, created a media dataset, created the jails dataset, installed Plex, added the storage link in the jail to the media dataset, and created the windows smb share (with guest access allowed) with the media folder. I added some test video files via file explorer on a Windows machine. Refreshed and restarted the jail. And when I opened Plex Plugin through the FreeNAS gui, and I tried to "Add Library" and "Browse for Media Folder", no other drives besides the plex folder with the "Cache, Codecs, Logs, etc..." is showing. I followed the instructions on the YouTube video from the FreeNASTeam exactly, and the "/" folder with "bin, boot, media, etc.." is not there.