Is Deduplication advised for cloud storage?

mpyusko

Dabbler
The machine is a purpose build for a NextCloud Server. The logic is,
  • users potentially having copies of the same file
  • NextCloud revision history
  • decent hardware capabilities
LZ4 Compression, no encryption. TrueNAS Core 12
  • Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645 @ 2.40GHz (6 cores/12 threads)
  • 48 GB RAM DDR3 EEC (Currently only 12 while I wait for the rest to come in)
  • 500 GB L2ARC (970 EVO Plus NVMe)
  • 4x 4 TB Toshiba X300 CMR (currently 2x 4TB X300 and 2x 1TB P300 while I wait for the rest to come in)
  • Dual GigE LAN with LAGG
  • RAIDZ
I'm not sure if I'll add a ZIL/SLOG or not. the majority of the burden will be Read (Sync and Antivirus) with occasional Write once the initial data is loaded. The ARC/L2ARC is critical though. NextCloud will be running via the plugin install on the server, not a VM.

I've been using FreeNAS for a few years, on several servers. I wouldn't call myself a guru, more of a Power User. All the docs I read are murky when it gets to the point of when deduplication is a more of a benefit. It also isn't clear on at what point the server's hardware makes it a non-issue. I'm really thinking that because the array is for archival storage and not to run a stack of VM OS VHD's with all it's heavy I/O, that this would be a textbook scenario where deduplication is acceptable, I think. Space is the primary concern, especially since NextCloud can maintain revision history which I believe could benefit from deduplication. Currently the NextCloud Data is running on a VHD connected to a VM on a separate hypervisor. I'm mixing storage with other live VMs. Moving it to a separate server in a native jail, I hope to increase performance across the board. I would like to think my specs are more than enough to enable it.

Thoughts?

(BTW.... I'm roughing it all out right now, but when the server actually goes "live", all the parts will be in and it will be fully upgraded.)