Introduction: Monkey_Demon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkey_Demon

Explorer
Hi,

After using a Netgear ReadyNAS Pro for several years, I have to migrate to another system. This is because Plex is one of the main reasons I have a NAS, and Plex no longer supports the ReadyNAS. Some people have kludged the ReadyNAS system to make it run Netgear's newer operating system, but I was never particularly happy with the OS on the ReadyNAS, and besides I wanted more horsepower and room for expansion.

So I just ordered most of the parts for my new system. Although I have lots of computer experience, this will be the first computer I've ever built. Here is the configuration:

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1220 v5
MB: Supermicro X11SSH-F
RAM: Crucial CT2K8G4WFS824A in a 2x8 kit for 16GB (but see * below)
SSD: Adata Premier SP600NS34 M.2 2242 128 GB SATA 3 -- for OS, Swap space, and apps
HD: 3 x WD Red 4TB in RAID 5 configuration
Case: Rosewill RSV-L4000
PS: EVGA SuperNOVA 550 G2

* I just learned the RAM is on back order. Supermicro's list of compatible RAM is minimal, so I'm having trouble figuring out what other matched-pair kits of 2x8GB are compatible.​

In any case, I've learned a great deal by lurking on this list, and now that I've signed up I'm looking forward to being a more active participant.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad

skyline65

Explorer
I would have at least 4xWD Red 4TB in Raid-Z2

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
The os drive is for os only, nothing else can be installed on it. Applications get installed into jails which live in your pool.

Have you read the noob guide along with the other threads in the recommended reading in my signature.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
@Monkey_Demon
In regards to your RAM, I just thought I'd mention that I run a Skylake board with one stick
of RAM (16GB) without issue, and the cost is close to the same for the 2 x 8GB kit.
I have not checked recently but Samsung has a model that works, see my config in my signature