Introduction + advices seeking !

Status
Not open for further replies.

amadeus42

Cadet
Hi all !

I appear before you because I plan on building my own NAS !

The reason why I plan to do that is because I realise how lucky I have been with HD reliability so far (number of disk loss during the last 15 years: 0)
I therefore plan to invest on a reliable storage solution :smile:
I have googled quite a lot, read tutorials, this forum, ... And it appears that using FreeNas is the best way to achieve what I look for :smile:
Though, I am a bit stuck with the kind of configuration to use and how to Raid the disks.

A bit of background about myself before:
I am 27 years old, living in Brussels, Belgium.
I am a geek, fan of new technologies and always interested about that. Not a nerd though, I like beers more than computers :D
I have a degree in IT and work as Network Engineer.

I am familiar with both windonws and Linux systems, same with concept of NAS and Raid.

I live in a shared house in which we roughly have the following equipment:
- 1 fixed computer
- 4 laptops
- Xbox One
- RaspberryPi v2b
- Nice 2.0 sound system
- Full HD TV
- Dlink 8*1Gbps switch
- Lots of tablets/smartphones of all kinds

Here is the uses I will have for my NAS:

- Store my movies/TV Shows
- Store my pictures/movies from holidays
- Backup my mails
- Store bit more sensitive documents (encryption needed !)
- Play videos/movies/... stored in the NAS on the TV via the RaspberryPi
- Access, read and write those data from any device in the network (Linux, windows) and even ... smartphones ?

Here are some constraints/info about hardware:

- I don't care how ugly it'll look or how much space it'll take: I'll put it in the basements (protected from floods, off course :D )
- Electricity consumption matters here: I attend to keep it this NAS for a lonnngggg time, so I'd like to have something green