Installing TrueNAS core on Samsung Evo 870

alex.8913

Cadet
Hi there,
I am new to TrueNAS and looking to install TrueNAS Core for my PowerEdge R720, but I want to get some recommendations before I install and buy a new SSD drive. From reading another post, it seems the Samsung 870 wouldn't be the best choice in terms of longevity because it x/TB write is low (2,400 TB Write time to be exact from google or five years) TrueNAS would be for my home lab, and I want to be able to run a few windows server environments, Run Plex and Fileshare. I will more than likely use TrueNAS for file storage than anything else

Things I am looking in for a drive
  1. Longevity (if I have to replace drives every two years until I can get a premium SSD, that would be fine or, at the bare min, a year
  2. A drive that wouldn't break the bank in terms of first-time startup
  3. Speed for me isn't a huge big deal, but fast would be nice
  4. Storage is a big deal. I would prefer to have at least a 4 TB SSD or more
Questions
Would it be safe for me to use the Samsung Evo 870 250 Gigs for installation and use something like the Kingstone DC500M for my actual storage? I know it only has 2 TB of capacity, but as of right now, it would be cheaper to get that than the 4 TB evo for my first-time startup I can always use the SSD in another project when it comes time to swap to a more premium ssd. Would there be a premium SSD drive that would have at least 4 TB or more in capacity and that has a high life expectancy? As of right now, I am trying to avoid the Western Digital Gold SSD only because of the price.

Newegg links
Kingston DC500M https://www.newegg.com/kingston-tec...00M-_-0D9-001B-001Z1-_-Product&quicklink=true

Samsung Evo 870 250 gigs https://www.newegg.com/samsung-250gb-870-evo-series/p/20-147-791

My System Specs
(Dell Poweredge R720)
Processor: 2x Xeon 2.4 Gig E5-2609 ( I will be eventually swapping to a better and faster processor in that generation that has 12 cores)