Install fails with error 19, no matter what

Status
Not open for further replies.

Idan Presser

Cadet
Hi guys!
I'm new to the forums and this is my first time installing FreeNAS, but I've built a few servers over the years and know my way around a computer...
Like many others before me, I've encountered the dreaded error 19 during install, I'll walk you through what I've tried so far, but first here are the rig specs:
Gigabyte GA-B150M-HD3
Intel Pentium G4400
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 (run clean 10 memtest cycles)
WD red 3TB x 6
SanDisk cruzer fit 16GB

I've started by burning the 9.3.1 STABLE 64bit ISO (SHA256 verified) onto a 32GB cruzer pop. received error 19 and started digging through the forums.
  • First I've disabled XHCI and fast booting -> Error 19.
  • Then moved the two disk-on-keys to USB2 ports -> Error 19.
  • Then reformatted the pop and reburned the ISO -> Error 19.
  • Then "zeroed" the pop using DD -> Error 19.
  • Then tried to add "set debug.acpi.disabled="hostres"" to the loader -> Error 19.
  • Then tired 3 more disk-on-keys, formatted, zeroed, burned -> Error 19.
  • Then found an old external cd-rom, burned the image to a disk, booted -> Error 19.
  • Then downloaded and verified 9.3 release, burned to CD -> Error 19.
  • Tried to mount the CD using cd9690:/dev/acd0 ro, cd9690:/dev/cd0 ro, cd9690:/dev/acd0, etc.
  • Tried to boot from CD and mount from DoK, boot from DoK and mount the CD, but Error 19...
  • I even tried to disable the onboard LAN (Realtek unfortunately) although I'm quite certain it has nothing to do with the mounting error.
I've been at it for 24 hours strait, with no luck :/

I'm close to giving up and settling on an old Debian distro, but I want ZFS...

Please help!

EDIT: made it a bit more legible

Last edited:

Idan Presser

Cadet
Thanks for the quick reply @anodos , I really hope that's not the case... but I would expect there to be a different error for unsupported HW, right?