I can't get SMB to share.

vegeta535

Dabbler
When I try to add a SMB I get a error "[EINVAL] sharingsmb_create.path_local: SMB shares containing the apps dataset are not permitted." I just can't get it working on my network.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Well, are you trying to share the apps dataset? Because that's clearly not going to work. Share a different dataset that does not have apps as a child.

vegeta535

Dabbler
Well, are you trying to share the apps dataset? Because that's clearly not going to work. Share a different dataset that does not have apps as a child.
I am not. My media and another folder that I wan to share with SMB are not even showing up under storage. Sorry I am new to Scale.
Untitled.jpg

vegeta535

Dabbler
I can actually start SMB on iocage folder. But not media which is not showing up now.

danb35

Hall of Famer
I can actually start SMB on iocage folder.
That isn't really a surprise (leaving aside the question of why you'd want to), as the iocage dataset isn't anything special under SCALE. You are running SCALE, right? Because you posted in the SCALE forum.

vegeta535

Dabbler
I am running scale. I just update it from CORE earlier. I did it to test and it worked. I can access it from the windows PC. The problem is my media fold is not showing up and wont let in the data set. When I try to add a SMB it does show me my media folder as a option but I get the above error when I try to select it. IDK what is holding it up.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Well, where is your media "folder"? Is it on the same pool as your apps? Is it somewhere under the ix-applications dataset? You aren't giving us very much to go on.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
You can only share datasets, not folders. Furthermore, it's not recommended to share anything underneath the iocage dataset on Core. On Scale, it probably doesn't matter, but isn't recommended if you ever move your pool back to Core.

vegeta535

Dabbler