[zfsacl] is not a permitted VFS object on SCALE. (Migration Core to Scale)

majerus

Contributor
Just did this migration, looks like permissions for SMB shares are not handled well at all. Trying to figure out what is the right way to proceed. It looks like some of my shares have 'vfs objects = zfs_space zfsacl streams_xattr' defined as extra parameters. I have been running truenas / freenas on this array since 2015. Should I just removed these 'advanced options' and save the shares? Any concern in doing this, really dont want to put my data at risk.

An ACL is detected on the selected path but Enable ACL is not selected for this share. ACLs must be stripped from the dataset prior to creating an SMB share.

[EINVAL] sharingsmb_update.auxsmbconf.sharingsmb_update.auxsmbconf.auxsmbconf: [zfs_space] is not a permitted VFS object on SCALE. [EINVAL] sharingsmb_update.auxsmbconf.sharingsmb_update.auxsmbconf.auxsmbconf: [zfsacl] is not a permitted VFS object on SCALE. [EINVAL] sharingsmb_update.acl: ACL detected on /mnt/DeepEnd/Client_Shares/Vault. ACLs must be stripped prior to creation of SMB share.

Attempting to enable "ACL"

[zfsacl] is not a permitted VFS object on SCALE.

Brian Stretch

Dabbler
Same here. Deleting zfsacl caused it to complain about zfs_space and at that point I just deleted the whole auxiliary line and my share reappeared in Windows. No idea whether that was a smart move.

majerus

Contributor
Yea same, i wish someone that knew this from a technical perspective would answer :)

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
We don't migrate auxiliary parameters. Generally, speaking once you put raw text into a field, you're on your own. zfsacl and zfs_space are FreeBSD-specific modules.

Brian Stretch

Dabbler
Could obsolete auxiliary parameters be removed automatically during Core to Scale upgrades? This was really confusing. These were parameters that FreeNAS added way back when, not parameters that were added manually.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems