How to make Plex transcode in RAM?

ryszardlski

Cadet
Hey Guys,

I'm new here and I registered solely for the purpose of creating this thread.
I have been searching this forum, Plex forum, YT and everything that google threw at me but I couldn't find the answer to my question.
"How to make Plex transcode in RAM on FreeNAS?"

Is there a way? Can I even do it, and if so - how?
I'm asking for an explanation for dummies, since I am completely new to this system.

Thanks in advance
Cheers

nojohnny101

Wizard
"How to make Plex transcode in RAM on FreeNAS?"

I think that is the wrong question and likely asked because you don't understand how transcoding works. That is a CPU task.

Did you mean to ask about speeding up the storage where the files that plex works with lives? If that is what you meant, then likely storing your media on a separate SSD within plex would help although I can tell you from experience and from what I have heard from others, that CPU's are often the bottlenecks in regards to plex and transcoding, not spinning rust. This is obviously situation dependent and would matter if you have a lot of jails runnings that are resource intensive.

ryszardlski

Cadet
Hi.

No. The question is correct. I want Plex to store transcoded files on RAM. I know transcoding itself is done by the CPU. However the transcoded files have to be somewhere. What I want is to have these files in RAM. On windows you can just write \transcode in the transcode directory setting in Plex and that’s it.

Cheers

Redcoat

MVP
Post #19 in this thread has some indications. Maybe that will help.

ryszardlski

Cadet
Post #19 in this thread has some indications. Maybe that will help.

I have 1 problem with this though. I don't want to mount a specific Volume in RAM essentially creating a RAM disc. I know this is an option since I stumbled upon this thread before, during my search. I want to it to be a dynamic tmp folder not a set Volume.