How To Expose Data For Prometheus?

isopropyl

Contributor
I currently have Prometheus (+node_exporter), Netdata, and Grafana setup in a Jail on TrueNAS. (In the future I plan to put this container on it's own server).
My question is, how exactly do I expose the data of the TrueNAS host to Prometheus (and Netdata) for metrics/logging purposes into Grafana.

Currently, I have node_exporter running in that Jail, but that only grabs the metrics for that Jail. Not the TrueNAS host.

Please bare with me as I am new to using all of this software, and still learning. I have looked around, and searched the forums. I saw someone mention to expose devfs. It was a post from 4 years ago, so I am not sure if that is still relevant, secure, or proper. There was not much more conversation about it, so I am still even confused on how exactly you would do that. I see devfs under Jail properties is currently set to 4. Do I just change that number (to what?) and restart the jail?

Furthermore, would it be possible to grab information such as VDEV info, alerts, SMART data, etc? I presume node_exporter doesn't collect this info, however I am not entirely sure.
Thank you.

isopropyl

Contributor
I was not

The metrics are exposed via Graphite. All that you need is a Prometheus endpoint to capture these metrics. This is where you can spin up a graphite-exporter or influxdb-exporter container somewhere on your network. Then just point TrueNAS to this endpoint and now your metrics can be scraped by Prometheus.

If you look in the GUI under system > reporting you can enter the IP address of your graphite-exporter container, and TrueNAS will start sending the metrics to port 2003 on that endpoint.

1662714799864.png

If you are familiar enough with docker you expose the TCP and UDP ports for 9109 on port 2003 to capture the metrics and the exporter will handle the rest.
Code:
docker run -d -p 9108:9108 -p 2003:9109 -p 2003/udp:9109/udp prom/graphite-exporter