How to even start with trueNAS scale installed on virtualbox

airordl

Cadet
Hello,

I'm completely new to this, so please be patient. I installed trueNAS in virtualbox, however all I get is a linux console, no GUI, and I have no idea where to start in order to install, say, a ubuntu in trueNAS as if it was a bare metal virtual machine. I'm doing this in order to know what I'm doing before I install trueNAS on an actual machine.

Every tutorial on 'getting started' with trueNAS that I could find never even mentions a terminal and no GUI, so I have two questions:
1) Let's say that I have a USB key with the ubuntu iso mounted in it, what am I supposed to do in order to virtualize it in trueNAS from the terminal? I don't think I should install virtualbox in trueNAS or anything like that, my understanding is that trueNAS is already a hypervisor
2) So far it looks like it's a fully functioning operating system. Is it? If it is, what are the advantages of trueNAS with respect, for instance, a minimal Arch system in which I install, let's say, virtualbox? I suppose that this is not the case, but I'm asking anyway

Thank you very much

danb35

Hall of Famer

airordl

Cadet
There's no GUI at the console for TrueNAS; you'd access it via a web browser at the address it shows you.

No, it isn't.
Thank you for your answer, I don't understand (even from the guide), what am I supposed to do exactly?
1) I install trueNAS in a machine
2)?

How do I get a virtualized ubuntu there? Could you point the part of the guide that covers that?

Thank you again

danb35

Hall of Famer
Could you point the part of the guide that covers that?
You've read the manual, right? Link is at "Documentation" at the top of this page. Specifically: