Home Assistant VM on SCALE

PackElend

Explorer
Yep. HA is my last VM running on ESXi and I'm really looking forward to have everything on the new Hardware with TrueNas Scale.

KVM + ZFS is new for me so I'm still learning about that and didn't try yet with HA.

Hi
my electrician will be over next week, hopefully, we find a solution how to pull this ... fibre optic cable.
I guess a can continue diving into SCALE end of the month.
We can try to get that thing done together as you VM has properly much more features than mine, who is at the very beginning of using HA.

@dquercus, how what is the virtual hardware used by your HA VM?

ornias

Wizard
TrueCharts should also support HomeAssistant (also thanks to the work by @tprelog ) as a SCALE app come next release of TrueNAS SCALE.

dquercus

Dabbler
Hi
my electrician will be over next week, hopefully, we find a solution how to pull this ... fibre optic cable.
I guess a can continue diving into SCALE end of the month.
We can try to get that thing done together as you VM has properly much more features than mine, who is at the very beginning of using HA.

@dquercus, how what is the virtual hardware used by your HA VM?
It's currently running a VM with 2GB RAM and 32GB disk in ESXI. Nothing fancy but I'm really happy with it.

PackElend

Explorer
TrueCharts should also support HomeAssistant (also thanks to the work by @tprelog )
referees to Home · tprelog/iocage-homeassistant Wiki (github.com), keep in mind The future of the Home Assistant Community plugin #28.
There is only one thing, the VM has certain advantages over the docker install, but that is up to personal preferences. Luckily there is Alternative way of running HassOS (full OS) on FreeNAS (without iocage or Docker) - Share your Projects! - Home Assistant Community (home-assistant.io), so all options will be open.

dquercus

Dabbler