Hi! I'm a total FreeNAS noob, and I need help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

choochilla

Dabbler
I have just re-commissioned an old computer as a server, basically so that we can store all our docs, pics and vids in one place. A friend said FreeNAS would be ideal but there is something wrong - it doesn't 'see' the HDDs. Unfortunately he works away and won't be back for seven weeks, so can anyone out there help me please?

The motherboard is an ASUS M3A78 Pro, the CPU is an Athlon 7750 dual core 2.7GHz, the 8GB of RAM is 4 x 2GB sticks of Kingston DDR2 memory (KHX8500D2K2). This worked fine as a PC. My new HDDs are 2x Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB SATA NAS drives and FreeNAS (x64) is installed on a 16GB Cruzer Fit USB drive.

I have tried both the 9.1.1 and the 8.3.2 versions of FreeNAS but it doesn't make any difference, neither can 'see' the HDDs. I connected to SATA 1 - 2, then 3 - 4, just in case the connectors were faulty. Someone suggested a SATA3 internal card might be better for the HDDs, but I though SATA was backward compatible (even though the transfer speed suffers)?

I'm sorry but I have no previous Linux or Unix experience so I do not know how to progress. Can anyone shed any light on this problem please. I followed the instructions on installing FreeNAS to a USB drive and it seems to boot up OK into the OS, so maybe it's as simple as something wrong in the BIOS (which DOES show the drives). The BIOS version is the latest one on the ASUS website.

As you can probably tell I'm not very computer literate (old age) but I can follow good clear instructions if anyone wants to take pity on me and help me get this beastie running! I'd be grateful of any help as I don't have a clue!!!

Thanks for taking the time to read this, but if you need more info you'll have to ask and I'll do my best to answer. I've done what I can (which is not much) so I'm now at your mercy. Anyone feel like helping an old fool?

Whattteva

Wizard