Hi, I'm new and need a little help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Urumiko

Dabbler
Hi there,
I have a FreeNAS setup based around an HP g8 microserver.
It has all 4 bays populated and a micro SD for boot.

I have no experience with BSD or free BSD and have so far been managing with the GUI.
I Mainly chose to go down this route as my understanding is that if the NAS itself fails then I should be able to transplant the HDDs in to any other FreeNAS system and recover my volume?

Recently I have been getting the following error on boot:

• CRITICAL: July 2, 2017, 9:17 p.m. - The boot volume state is ONLINE: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data corruption. Applications may be affected.
How do I investigate further?
What steps should I take?

I should point out that if it were to completely fail it would not be the end of the world as long as I could Mount the volumes in to a fresh install easy enough. (not that I know how to do this).

Last edited by a moderator:

melloa

Wizard
Hello ...

If I read correctly the message above is saying that you boot volume is experiencing problems, not your data volume.

#1 thing -> save the config in case you need to reinstall (system -> general -> save config).

With that behind us ... if you have a second USB port, I'd mirror the boot pool and replace the bad one. If not, I'd reinstall, import the volume, and config (*)

(*) Not sure how comfortable would you be doing that, based on your statement above.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
I have a Freenas setup based around an HP g8 microserver.
It has all 4 bays populated and a micro SD for boot.
You have made a very bad choice for a boot device. Change this to a high quality USB flash device
ASAP.

As melloa has suggested below
#1 thing -> save the config in case you need to reinstall (system -> general -> save config).
Do this NOW!

Urumiko

Dabbler
Thank you for the reply. I have saved the config as you suggest.